Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Simon Dingley 1471 posts 3428 karma points c-trib
    Jan 06, 2010 @ 10:48
    Simon Dingley

Could not find file 'C:\Inetpub\*\_3g4.fnm' - Missing File for Lucene Index

I have a custom Lucene index running on site that contains membership data and since the site owner updated some of the data in the index they keep getting exceptions about a missing file _3g4.fnm. This happens quite regularly and I was wondering if anyone can shed any light on why this might be as I am no Lucene expert?

• Sebastiaan Janssen 5045 posts 15478 karma points MVP admin hq
    Jan 06, 2010 @ 11:03
    Sebastiaan Janssen

Yeah, I have the same problem. This can be fixed by doing a reindex (http://yoursite.ext/umbraco/reindex.aspx).

Problem is that it soon starts all over again and you keep having to reindex. How many nodes do you have in your site? I've noticed that it is faster to fail when there are many nodes (but this is anecdotal evidence in 1 of my sites).

Jan 06, 2010 @ 16:55
    Simon Dingley

Re-indexing requires manual intervention and I was hoping to find the source of the problem as prevention is better than cure. The Lucene index that is having the problem is not the Umbraco index it is a custom index - perhaps this is a wider problem with Lucene?

Jan 06, 2010 @ 23:13
    Sebastiaan Janssen

The cause (as far as we've been able to find it today) is that the index should ONLY be updated by 1 process at the same time. However, somehow, sometimes the update is allowed to be done by two different processes at the same time, which will cause it to become corrupt.