Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Marianne Hildesheim Bertelsen 26 posts 169 karma points
    Sep 26, 2014 @ 16:12
    Marianne Hildesheim Bertelsen

Package dlls in bin-folder in source control?

Hi 

I'm relatively new to the Umbraco developer scene and I still haven't found the perfect way to structure my Umbraco projects.

I work in Visual Studio, and it seems that there are two fundamental ways of setting Umbraco up:

1. Install Umbraco via Nuget and have all the Umbraco-files in the Visual Studio solution. This of course enables things like debugging (without having to attach to the IIS process).
    2. Have the Umbraco installation and your custom C# code in separate folders. In this case build events are set up in the VS solution which copy dlls etc. from the VS bin-folder to the Umbraco bin-folder.

I much prefer solution #1.

Now I'm starting to work on an Umbraco project which is going to use uCommerce. When I install the uCommerce package via Umbraco (uCommerce is not on Nuget, is it?), it puts some dll files into the bin folder. I usually wouldn't have my bin-folder in source control, since the files in it are usually created when building the solution.

But since the Umbraco packages (in this case uCommerce) in some cases put dlls into the bin-folder, maybe it's no longer a viable solution to leave the bin-folder completely out of source control, since these files are not (re)created when building the solution, since they aren't a part of the solution.

What do you guys usually do? Add just the Umbraco-installed/non-solution dll's to source control or just say "to heck with it" and add the whole bin folder to source control? Something else?

Are there any advantages to solution #2 that I have overlooked? I really hate having to attach to the IIS process in order to debug, and having to set up build events for copying files from VS to Umbraco.