Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Jeremy 14 posts 35 karma points
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 19:56
    Jeremy

Insert data into umbraco v4 with SSIS package

I am working on a project that requires me to insert data from an .xml file into Umbraco through an automated process.  I am new to Umbraco, so I am going to try to explain what I need to do the best I can...

I have an .xml file that contains data.  This .xml file is retrieved from an FTP site (there will be a new file every week).  The data in the file represents, for example, people.  I have created a new document type in Umbraco, called Person.  I have added attributes to this document type (first name, last name, address, etc.).  For each person record in the .xml file, I need to add a new Person record in Umbraco.

I have been looking through the Umbraco database structure, and it seems the cmsPropertyData table contains the actual data for a document type.  I would like to insert the data directly into this table through an SSIS package.  Has anyone done something similar to this?  Is there a simpler way to automatically import data into Umbraco?

Thanks!

• Dirk De Grave 4541 posts 6021 karma points MVP 3x admin c-trib
    Sep 14, 2009 @ 20:16
    Dirk De Grave

Yes, there's a much simpler way of importing data. Have a look at Richard's project umbImport, may be exactly what you need!

Cheers,

/Dirk

Sep 14, 2009 @ 20:26
    Jeremy

Hey Dirk, thanks for the quick reply.

I have looked at the umbImport package.  Unfortunately, I haven't found a way to automate the process.  I basically need to setup a job that will grab an .xml file and insert/update the data into the database on a weekly basis.  UmbImport gives you a nice wizard interface, but it is a manual process.  Is there a way to automate this?

Thanks

Sep 14, 2009 @ 20:40
    Dirk De Grave