Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Marios 2 posts 32 karma points
    Jan 26, 2015 @ 11:55
    Marios

Error 'Root element is missing' when trying to 'save and publish'

Hi, I'm totally new to Umbraco and am getting the below error when I try to 'save and publish' any page. I'm not aware of anything being modified which might have caused the problem however can confirm that this is a recent issue. It would be great if someone could point me in the right direction please!

We're running:

1. Umbraco v 4.7.0 (Assembly version: 1.0.4090.38017).

2. Windows server 2008 SP2 

3. Microsoft .NET Framework Version:4.0.30319; ASP.NET Version:4.0.30319.1022

Thanks,

Marios

Server Error in '/' Application.

Root element is missing.

Description: An unhandled exception occurred during the execution of the current web request. Please review the stack trace for more information about the error and where it originated in the code. 

Exception Details: System.Xml.XmlException: Root element is missing.

Source Error: 

An unhandled exception was generated during the execution of the current web request. Information regarding the origin and location of the exception can be identified using the exception stack trace below.

Stack Trace: 

[XmlException: Root element is missing.]
       System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl.ThrowWithoutLineInfo(String res) +198
       System.Xml.XmlTextReaderImpl.ParseDocumentContent() +5206540
       System.Xml.XmlReader.MoveToContent() +26
       Microsoft.Xml.Serialization.GeneratedAssembly.XmlSerializationReaderSerializableDictionary2.Read1_dictionary() +26

[InvalidOperationException: There is an error in XML document (0, 0).]
       System.Xml.Serialization.XmlSerializer.Deserialize(XmlReader xmlReader, String encodingStyle, XmlDeserializationEvents events) +1377