Copied to clipboard

Flag this post as spam?

This post will be reported to the moderators as potential spam to be looked at

• Peter Prokein 29 posts 105 karma points
    Jun 16, 2012 @ 19:12
    Peter Prokein

suggestions on how to handle the v5 fallout

I was at CG12 and just like many others I was surprised that v5 has now been discontinued.

We went to v5 training with two people and we spend time evaluating v5, all in all we are out thousands of dollars but unlike some Umbraco users we did not suffer a tarnished professional reputation or have to explain to clients why all the work done on their project has to be redone in an older version.

What is true is that Umbraco, the project and HQ, has suffered a loss of confidence due to the v5 decision.  I am not a pro .Net developer at this time but at least I can understand the technical reasoning behind the decision.  What I cannot understand is how a project is in development for 3 years, with double-digit man-years of effort having been expended, and then after all this time suddenly it is all over.

Frankly, Niels' comment that HQ are open source coders and not PR people doesn't cut it.  In my opinion what is needed to restore some confidence in Umbraco (project & HQ) is a public root cause analysis.  Alex is no longer part of the team (reasons unknown!) but the rest of the team are the exact same people who created the v5 mess.

Yes, we have heard that now it will all be better and the community will be more involved etc, that's great.  How exactly did HQ work for 3 years without anyone noticing along the way that the product they are working on is becoming unacceptable.  How did this happen from a project management point of view and what specific steps and actions will be taken to prevent a repeat of this disaster (that is what it is for many, although they will get over it) in the future?